Lucifer

This blog will focus not on the literal meaning of “Lucifer” (Light-bringing morning star), but on what occurred on a dark morning during the Pandemic of 2020. Years from now, no matter what has changed, I want to be able to remember this day, as detailed as possible.

It was May 5th, 2020. My day started at 12 AM, when most people retire to their beds. As a 21-year old with 10 years of experimenting with my sleep schedule, I had finally decided that tucking in and drifting off early helped me have a well-accommodated day and did its part to heal my ever-growing stomach ulcers. So, what did keep me up that morning?

I had come across an element that was novel to me in the general sense. I was so caught up in trying to decode this element. Its characteristics, its fluency of language and its maturity. I think this element is worth revolving this whole blog around, because I found it at a point where I didn’t think it was possible to accept anything new.

The year 2020 had been cruel to humanity in general. Our lives were toppled as we stared into the vastness of oblivion. Dare I say that it even put us in our place. It’s sad that such an evolved species didn’t realize they needed a reality check too. But this year was devastating to me, for whole other reasons. I lost a part of me in January. I had almost had to witness a parent’s death on my birthday. Not that it would’ve been less devastating on any other day, just would’ve been less poetic. All these circumstances, along with my graduation and future career decisions coming up ahead, convinced me that I shouldn’t get too attached to anyone to the point that their absence would physically hurt.

Which brings us back to May 5th. Lucifer, the element, somehow broke the most important barriers, all in a morning’s worth. I don’t want to go into more details, for the most important ones are etched in memory forever. My morning ended when the sun’s rays hit the horizon. It was a georgeous sun-rise, I agreed.

Shreyy, hoping that when she reads this in future, Earth is in a much better form.

P.S.: Dad if you ever read this, This is the day I finally finished creating our family jigsaw puzzle from scratch. I need you to assemble the pieces with their backs facing up. Trust me. ❤

Leave a comment